10 major roads announced as Highways in Jammu & Kashmir

Jammu, February 26: The Jammu and Kashmir government today declared Ten major roads, covering a length of 2,264 kms of the state as National Highways.

The announcement was made by Governor N N Vohra in a high level review meeting for National Highways, BRO Roads and Mughal Road in the state. The roads which will be declared as National Highhways are Jammu-Srinagar, Batote-Kishtwar- Simthan, Uri-Srinagar and Jammu-Akhnoor-Poonch.

An official spokesperson also said that the Four-laning of the Parimpora-Narbal road on the Uri-Srinagar Highway is also under progress while the 4-laning of the Jammu-Akhnoor sector is likely to start soon. Besides, work on six stretches on the Jammu-Srinagar National Highway has also commenced.

The spokes person also suggested that the work on Z-Morh Tunnel to promote all weather connectivity with Sonamarg and beyond has commenced and that on Zojila Tunnel project is likely to start soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *