15 candidates file nomination papers for LC elections


JAMMU: On the last day of filing of nominations for filling up 11 vacancies in the Upper House, 15 candidates from different political parties filed their nomination papers before the Returning Officer for Biennial and Bye-election to the Legislative Council( LC ), Mr. Mohammad Ramzan.

          Against the 3 vacancies caused due to Bye-election, the nomination papers were filed by Yasir Reshi and Firdoos Ahmed Tak both from JKPDP and Sofi Yousuf from BJP(Kashmir Province).

           Against eight vacancies caused due to Biennial election (four each) in Kashmir and Jammu Provinces including (one each for Ladakh and Kargil) the nomination papers were filed by 12 candidates.

From Kashmir Province, the nomination papers were filed by Mr. Anayat Ali, Javaid Ahmad, Saif-ud-Din Bhat from JKPDP, Mr. Chering Dorjay and Dr. Drakshan Andrabi both from BJP and Qaiser Jamshed Lone from JKNC.

From Jammu Province, the nomination papers were filed by Mr. Surinder Kumar Choudhary of JKPDP, Mr. Sajjad Ahmed Kichloo of JKNC, Mr.Vibod Gupta, Ramesh Arora, Charanjeet Singh from BJP and Mr. Ajay Singh Chandail as an independent candidate.

The scrutiny of the nomination papers will be done on 19th February (Thursday) and the nominations can be withdrawn by the candidates on 21st February (Saturday) before 3 p.m.

In the event of election being contested, the poll will take place on 2nd March (Monday) between 9 am and 4 pm.

You might also like