19 cities of the state are to be developed under Housing for all scheme

Srinagar, August 31: As a consolation after failing to get nominated in the smart city list announced by Central government, Union Minister has put 19 cities of Jammu and Kashmir in the list of more than 300 cities and towns with Housing for All.

These 19 cities and towns in the state has been allocated by the Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation ministry with the target to provide shelter to millions to homeless people across India by 2022.

The selected cities and towns are in Chhattisgarh (36 cities/towns), Gujarat (30), Jammu and Kashmir (19), Jharkhand (15), Kerala (15), Madhya Pradesh (74), Odisha (42), Rajasthan (40) and Telangana (34).

Under this Housing for All initiative, two crore houses all across the countries are to be built by 2022.

The states that have so far agreed to implement the mandatory reforms are Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Rajasthan, Telangana and Uttarakhand.

(Inputs by Greater Kashmir)

Download the U4UVoice App Now:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *