63 out of 79 candidates lost Security Deposit in LokSabha Election in J&K


Jammu: Jammu crowns with 22, Ladakh zero

A total number of 79 candidates were in fray for Parliamentary Election in Jammu & Kashmir but as much as 63 candidates lost their security deposits.

Also Read:

Jammu- Poonch Parliamentary Constituency remained on top with 22 Candidates that failed to touch the mark of 1/6th of all valid votes casted. As soon as the trends started showing BJP’s victory in General Elections, people of Jammu started celebrations and other candidates, whose security deposits were forfeited gone disappeared. 

Many bigwigs like JKNPP Chief Prof. Bhim Singh and Chairman Harsh Dev Singh, BJP rebel & Dogra Swabhiman Sangathan Supremo Choudhary Lal Singh, PDP leader Abdul Qayoom Wani, People’s Conference leader Ifran Raza Ansari were among who lost their security deposits in this election.

As per EC, 63 out of the total 79 candidates from 6 parliamentary seats in the state have failed to save their security deposits. But, all the 4 candidates from Ladakh managed to save their security deposits.

Astonishingly, 80% candidates were unable to fetch more than 16.66% of the total votes polled. Pertinently, in LokSabha elections, if a candidate is unable to get more than 16.66% votes, his security deposit is forfeited.

The 2nd largest Parliamentary constituency remained Anantnag where 15 out of 18 candidates lost their deposits. Srinagar and Udhampur drew the contest as both Parliamentary Constituencies witnessed 10 candidates each out of their respective 12 candidates in both parliamentary constituencies who forfeited their ‘zamaanat’.

6 out of 9 candidates lost their deposits in Baramullar Parliamentary constituency but interestingly, in Ladakh LokSabha Constituency, all the 4 candidates saved their deposits.