7225559 voters to exercise their franchise coming elections in Jammu and Kashmir: Narulla


J&K to go for five phase polls

SRINAGAR:  The elections to the Legislative Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir comprising of 87 segments would be held in five phases commencing from October 28, 2014 and concluding on December 29, 2014.
The information was given by the Chief Electoral Officer, Mr. Umang Narulla while interacting with the members of media here this evening.
Mr. Narulla said that the elections would be held in free and fair manner and adequate deployment of security forces, Election Observers and other related things have been put in place.
The Chief Electoral Officer further said that the notifications for the first phase would be issued on October 28, 2014, for second phase November 07, 2014, for third phase November 14, 2014, fourth phase November 19, 2014 and for fifth phase November 26, 2014 respectively. Similarly, the last date for filing nominations to these phases is November 05, November 14, November 21, November 26 and December 03, 2014 respectively, he maintained.
He further said that scrutiny of papers in these phases would be held on November 07, November 15, November 22, November 27 and December 04, 2014 respectively. Similarly, the last date of withdrawal of nomination papers of these phases would be November 10, November 17, November 24, November 29 and December 06, 2014 respectively, he added.
Mr. Narulla further said that polling to these five phases would start from November 25 for first phase, December 02 for second phase, December 09 for third phase, December 14 for fourth phase and December 20, 2014 for the fifth and final phase respectively. Counting of votes would be held on December 23, 2014 and date of completion of Election process would be December 29, 2014.
In the first phase polls would be held in the 15 Assembly constituencies of Gurez, Bandipora, Sonawari, Kangan, Ganderbal, Nobra, Leh, Kargil, Zanskar, Kishtwar, Inderwal, Doda, Bhaderwah, Ramban (SC) and Banihal.
In the second phase 18 Assembly constituencies of Gulabgarh, Reasi, Gool Arnas, Udhampur, Chenani (SC), Ramnagar, Surankote, Mendhar, Poonch Haveli, Karnah, Kupwara, Lolab, Handwara, Langate, Noorabad, Kulgam, Home-Shalibugh and Devsar would go to polls.
He said in the third phase elections would be held in 16 Assembly constituencies of Uri, Rafiabad, Sopore, Sangrama, Baramulla, Gulmarg, Pattan, Chadoora, Badgam, Beerwah, Khansahib, Chrar-I- Sharief, Tral, Pampore, Pulwama and Rajpora.
In the fourth phase, Mr. Narulla said, 18 Assembly Constituencies of Hazratbal, Zadibal, Idgah, Khanyar, Habbakadal, Amirakadal, Sonawar, Batamaloo, Anantnag, Doru, Kokernag, Shangus, Bijbehara, Pahalgam, Wachi, Shopian, Samba (SC) and Vijaypur would go to polls.
The CEO said 20 Assembly Constituencies of Bani, Basohli, Kathua, Billawar, Hiranagar (SC), Nagrota, Gandhinagar, Jammu East, Jammu West, Bishnah, R S Pura (SC), Suehetgarh, Marh, Raipur Domana (SC), Akhnoor, Chhamb (SC), Nowshara, Darhal, Rajouri and Kalakote would go to polls.
Mr. Narulla said 7225559 electors would exercise their franchise during the forthcoming elections.

You might also like