87 police station buildings constructed under Police Modernization plan

SRINAGAR, JUNE 1: A meeting of Committee on Public Accounts of Home Department was today held under the chairmanship of Main Altaf Ahmad.

Legislators, Mr. M. Y. Targami, Mr. Mohammad Khalil Band, Mr. Abdul Rashid Dar, Mr. Satpaul Sharma, Mr. Ajay Nanda, Mr. Rajeev Sharma, Syeed Farooq Ahmad Andrabi, Shah Muhammad Tantray, Dr. Shahnaz Ganai and Mr. Zaffar Iqbal Manhas attended the

The meeting discussed threadbare various aspects regarding modernization and infrastructural development in Police Department.

The meeting also discussed Annual Action Plan including Organizational Structure, Planning, Financial Management, Status and facilities available in police stations.

It was given out in the meeting that over Rs. 8 crore are being providing annually for repairs and maintenance of buildings of police department.

The meeting was also informed that police department has constructed 87 police station buildings under Police Modernization plan so far while as 5 such buildings are coming up during current financial year.”Every newly constructed police station and police post buildings are equipped with modern facilities as per the guidelines of Bureau of Police Research and Development norms while as old police station buildings are being upgraded as per the requirement in a phased manner”, the meeting was told.

During the meeting the legislators gave their suggestions and recommendations for further improving the functioning of the department.

Speaking on the occasion, Main Altaf urged upon the concerned to speed up the pace of work for ensuring timely completion of works and use funds judiciously.

Principal Secretary Home, Director General of Police, Accountant General AGs office, DG(A&T), ,Additional Directors General of Police and other senior officers of Home department were present on the occasion.