Anantnag is not your everyday election constituency; 102 sensitive and hypersensitve booths

Jammu and Kashmir News

JAMMU, June 18:  For the Anantnag Assembly segment, polls are scheduled for the 22nd of June and eight candidates, including Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) supremo and Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti, are trying their luck.
Besides PDP, Congress and National Conference (NC), five Independent candidates are also in the contest. While Congress has fielded Hilal Ahmed Shah, NC’s Iftikar Hussian Misgar has also joined the fray. In addition, five Independents including one Tejinder Singh from minority Sikh community will be contesting.
However, there will be a prime triangular contest among the candidates from the three main political parties of the state i.e PDP, NC and Congress.
The constituency of Anantnag has a total of 85604 voters as per the figures available with election authorities of the State. With a total of 102 polling stations, out of which 52 stations are in the hyper sensitive state and 50 others are sensitive.
Being the hub of militancy, no polling booth has been classified as normal by the election authorities in Anantnag.
The polls will be held on June 22 from 7 am in the morning to 6 pm in the evening and the authorities have made elaborate arrangements for smooth and peaceful conduction. The counting of votes shall take place on June 25, results of which will be available by the afternoon on the same day.
The Election authorities have already kept 514 polling staff at its disposal to hold elections who have been given the necessary training. Also, 102 Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) have also been kept at the disposal of the polling staff and all these EVMs have been kept in strong room.
Official sources said to ensure smooth monitoring of elections and maintaining Model Code of Conduct during the elections the Constituency has been divided into two zones and one zone has been further divided into 12 sectors.
In addition to this, 20 special polling stations have been created for 3970 migrant voters outside the Valley. Out of them 15 polling stations have been kept in Jammu, one in Udhampur and four in Delhi to facilitate voting for Kashmiri migrants from the Constituency. The Returning Officer will be assisted by three Assistant Returning Officers in Anantnag and one each at Jammu, Udhampur and Delhi.
Sources said in view of the recent militant attacks in the constituency, the authorities have also made elaborate security arrangements for the poll. Though the task of conducting the election is challenging in this Assembly segment due to militancy, authorities are optimistic that every thing will go smooth.
Meanwhile, the Chief Electoral Officer, Shantmanu, asked the concerned officials for early completion of voter slips distribution process for the by-election of 40-Anantnag Assembly segment.
Chairing a meeting, the CEO said that distribution of voter slips would help the voters to cast their votes without any inconvenience on the polling day.
Revision of voter’s list was made in January 2016 and after continuous updation from the Month of January, 1577 new voters were registered, with the new total now equal to 85604, where 43512 are male and 42092 female candidates.
A complaint cell has been established in the office of District Election Officer and complaints regarding the poll process or violation of Model Code of Conduct are welcomed.
The locals may contact on the Toll free Numbers: 18001807054, 01932-222291, fax:- 01932-223164 or even send mails to the District Election Officer, Anantnag at :-,, to the Returning Officer, Anantnag at and to the Additional Deputy Commissioner, Anantnag at :-


Image Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *