Anantnag sees very dull response to by-elections

Voting has started in South Kashmir’s Anantnag segment this morning.


Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti is contesting elections from Anantnag to enter the state legislature — a mandatory requirement for any chief minister of the state to fulfil within six months of being sworn in.

There are seven other candidates in the fray here including Hilal Ahmad Shah of the Congress and Iftikhar Hussain Misgar of National Conference.

The seat fell vacant due to the passing away of the former Chief Minister Mufti Muhammad Sayeed who represented the constituency till his death on January 7.

All separatist leaders and guerrilla outfits operating under the Muzaffarabad-based United Jihad Council (UJC) have asked people to boycott the polls.

Voting started at 7 AM and will end at 6 PM.

Votes will be counted on June 25 and results announced on the same day.

Download the U4UVoice App Now:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *