BJP to contest alone, Congress to announce the candidate list soon for the Jammu and Kashmir Elections

PTI Image

BJP puts and end to any speculation regarding going for any pre-poll alliance in Jammu & Kashmir and said that it will contest in all the 87 constituencies in the upcoming assembly elections.

PTI Image
Narulla announcing election dates: PTI Image

We won’t be entering into any pre-poll alliance with any political party as we are considering to field our candidates on all the 87 assembly constituencies in the state,” BJP MP and party in charge for Jammu & Kashmir Avinash Rai Khanna told PTI

The party to soon come out with its first list of candidates.


Focus would be on the candidates who are capable to win, those who have a clean image and who can deliver. The party’s election committee will hold a meeting today to decide the names of the candidates,” he told.

BJP would aim at replicating its performance in Haryana and Maharashtra assembly polls in Jammu & Kashmir, Khanna hoping to realize the party’s ambitious mission 44+.

We will go beyond 44 seats and form the next government in Jammu & Kashmir,” said Khanna presiding over a function at the party office.


File image: media source
File image: media source

On the other hand, Congress today said it will announce its candidates will be announced within a couple of days.

The candidates would be announced within a couple of days. We are working on it“, Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Congress Committee (JKPCC) President, Prof Saif-uddin-Soz said.

No comment on whether the party will form an alliance have been made by the leader.

This all comes in motion when a five-phased schedule between November 23 and December 20 was decided by Election Comission on Saturday.

It will be interesting to know the party’s course owing to the result of this year’s Lok Sabha election when the ruling coalition partners of Congress and National Conference (NOC) fought  in alliance and lost all the six seats.

BJP and PDP bagged three seats each in Jammu, Udhampur, Ladakh and  Srinagar, Ananatnag, Baramulla Parliamentary constituencies respectively.