BJP decides on the candidates to contest on most of the seats



Where Congress is going to repeat its all sitting Ministers and MLAs, BJP is going to review performance of its all 10 sitting MLAs before taking a decision on repeating them in the Assembly elections, the process for which was set into motion by the Election Commission today.

Top party sources have released it to the local media that the party has finalized the list of candidates for first two phases of Assembly elections and is likely to announce the names of the candidates on November 1 or 2 with November 5 being the last date for filing of nomination papers for first phase of elections and  November 14 being the last date for nominations for second phase.
In first phase, Doda, Ramban, Kishtwar, Leh, Kargil, Bandipora and Ganderbal districts will go to polls while in second phase, Udhampur, Reasi, Poonch, Kupwara and Kulgam districts will have elections.
The BJP will field Tsering Dorjey, former Chief Executive Council (CEC) of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, Leh from Leh Assembly constituency. Dorjey had represented Leh Assembly segment in 1996 on Congress mandate. Dorjey among others will face Urban Development Minister and Congress candidate Nawang Rigzin Jora.
With BJP  to review performance of all 10 sitting MLAs before taking a decision on repeating them or changing candidates in their segments. BJP had 11 MLAs but it has expelled Prof Chaman Lal Gupta, MLA Jammu West. Recently, two times JSM MLA from Bishnah Ashwani Sharma had joined the BJP.
Sources reveal that BJP has not cleared  Baldev Raj Sharma, MLA Reasi so far even as Reasi will go to polls in second phase. In first two phases of elections, BJP holds only one seat of Reasi. The BJP will repeat only those MLAs, whose performance is found satisfactory.

The BJP will field prominent Congress leader RS Pathania from Ramnagar against Panthers Party prominient three times MLA Harshdev Singh, who is also former Minister. In Ganderbal seat held by Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, the BJP has nominated Sheikh Rashid as its candidate.
For Kishtwar Assembly segment, BJP has named Sunil Sharma, who will face MoS Home and NC candidate Sajjad Ahmad Kitchloo and PDP nominee Firdous Tak. The BJP has named Tariq Keen from Inderwal, who joined the party after resigning from the Congress against Congress MLA Ghulam Mohammad Saroori who holds the seat from Inderwal.

The party has nominated Dileep Parihar and Shakti Parihar from Bhaderwah and Doda Assembly seats respectively. Mohammad Sharief Niaz and Abdul Mujeed Wani, both Congress, are sitting MLAs from the two constituencies. In Banihal, the BJP has declared panel of two candidates – Showkat Daing and Thakur Hari Om while in Ramban (reserve) seat, it has shortlisted three candidates including Girdhari Lal, Neelam Langeh and Pyar Chand. Banihal and Ramban have Congress MLA’s presently.
In Udhampur segment, BJP has shortlisted Pawan Gupta and Pawan Khajuria for the mandate while in Chenani (reserve) seat, it has nominated Dina Nath Bhagat. Udhampur seat is presently represented by NPP MLA Balwant Singh Mankotia and Chenani by Congress MLA Krishan Chand Bhagat.
For Poonch Assembly segment, the BJP has cleared the name of Pradeep Sharma and shortlisted Taj Khan and Manzoor Manhas from Surankote Assembly seat while in Mendhar, Zulfikar and Siddiqui have been taken in the panel of two candidates.
The BJP has nominated Dr Hina Bhat in Amirakadal and Sofi Yousuf Mohammad from Pahalgam.
It has shortlisted the names of Kabla Singh and Balkar Singh for Gool-Arnas Assembly segment and Mohammad Israel, a Gujjar leader and Pardeep Kumar for Gulabgarh constituency of Reasi district.

You might also like