Champions Trophy: India, Pak gear up for ‘mother of all finals’

London [U.K.], June 18 (ANI): The India-Pakistan clash, which is often referred to as the `mother of all battles`, is all set to once-again fill the cricket fans with enthusiasm and anticipation as the two arch-rivals meet each other for the second time in a month’s time in the high-voltage final of the Champions Trophy at the Kennington Oval here today.

· Pakistan have reached a Champions Trophy final for the very first time; they knocked out England in Cardiff by a margin of eight wickets to get there.

· This is only the second time in India’s last five appearances at the Champions Trophy that they’ve managed to progress beyond the group stage; they did go on to win it on that previous occasion though (2013).

· India come into this game having won nine of their last 10 Champions Trophy matches (L1); that defeat came during the 2017 group stage at the Oval however (v Sri Lanka).

· Pakistan have lost seven of their nine previous matches at the Oval in ODI cricket (W2) whilst India have alternated between victory and defeat across their last six ODI outings there; they beat South Africa at the famous London venue last time out.

· If Shikhar Dhawan (India) reaches 50 in this game, he’d have got there more often than any other batsman ever in the Champions Trophy (currently done it on six occasions).

· Of the men to have recorded 10+ ODI innings since January 2016, Kohli (98) and Rohit Sharma (72) have the highest batting averages.

· Pakistan’s Hasan Ali has taken more wickets than any other bowler in the 2017 Champions Trophy; recording his 10 scalps at an average of just 17.2.

· Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India) has the highest batting average of any batsman ever to record 10+ ODI innings in games between these two sides; recording a rate of 58.4 across his 29 knocks in such encounters


India: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami

Pakistan : Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Fahim Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Shadab Khan, Shoaib Malik, Wahab Riaz, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail.

Download the U4UVoice App Now:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *