CM flags off expedition to scale Kolahoi peak, unveils logo of Tour de Kashmir

Highlights need to provide benchmark facilities to adventure lovers, laying of dedicated cycling tracks alongside Boulevard, known tourist destinations

Jammu and Kashmir News

SRINAGAR, SEPTEMBER 07: In a big boost to revive mountaineering as a major adventure sport, Chief Minister, Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, Monday flagged off the first expedition in 25 years by J&K Mountaineering & Hiking Club (JKHMC) to conquer Kolahoi, the valley’s highest and most arduous peak to climb.

He also unveiled the logo of the 13th Tour de Kashmir cycle race, an annual affair that attracts professional paddlers from all over the country.

Mufti Sayeed, who also holds the charge of Tourism portfolio, handed over the flag to the squad leader and wished his team success at a simple flag off ceremony organized here this morning.

CM 2

The State Tourism Department is sponsoring a joint team of Indian Mountaineering Foundation (IMF), country’s premier regulatory body on mountaineering expeditions, and JKMHC, which will attempt to scale one of the iconic peaks of the valley for the first time since 1990. However, last time when Kolahoi, also known asGashibror to locals, was conquered was in 2009 when the trainees of Jawahar Institute of Mountaineering (JIM) successfully climbed the peak.

In his meeting with IMF President in May earlier this year, the Chief Minister had described J&K as a mountaineer’s delight and underlined the need to organize expeditions to Nun Kun and Kolahoi peaks to provide fillip to adventure sports in the state.

The Secretary Tourism informed the Chief Minister that this year so far, seven expeditions to Nun Kun peaks have been organized by IMF, with active support of the Tourism Department.

CM 1

Tour de Kashmir, a regular feature for the past 12 years, is being organized by J&K SDA in collaboration with Tourism Department. It will see professional cyclists participate from all over the country. The 10-day event will have six stages and is scheduled to cover a distance of 388 km from Verinag, Pahalgam, Srinagar, Dudpathri, Gulmarg, Sonamarg before concluding at Srinagar.

The members of the squad, who will be part of expedition to climb Kolahoi, are Sajad Hyder, Ram Singh, Manik Slathia, Bikram Boro, Parminder Sharma, Prashant Negi, Roshan Kotaria, Manish Kumar, Rouf Tramboo, Junaid Beigh, Nawab Muazam, Imtiyaz Qureshi, G. M. Wani and Irfan Ahmad.

Download the U4UVoice App Now:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *