CM Mehbooba Mufti takes oath of office

SRINAGAR, June 30: Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister, Ms Mehbooba Mufti, today took oath as a Member of the 12th Legislative Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir on the last day of Budget Session of the House.

Mehbooba Mufti Oath MLA

The oath of office was administered by Speaker Kavinder Gupta at Assembly secretariat here after the House was adjourned for 10 minutes.

On April 4, Ms Mufti took the oath as Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir, however, she was not a member of any House although she was Member of Parliament (MP) from Anantnag constituency

Ms Mufti won the seat defeating her nearest rival Congress’ Hilal Shah.

It had become a legal requirement that after being sworn-in as J&K chief minister on April 04 this year, CM Mehbooba Mufti was to be elected to either of the houses of the bicameral legislature within six months.

Image Courtesy – ANI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *