CS reviews science initiatives ; Stresses on expanding science scholarships


Secretary Co-operative-25
SRINAGAR:  Chief Secretary Mohammad Iqbal Khandey, Wednesday emphasised on bringing more students pursuing Science education in schools and colleges under the Science Scholarship Scheme of the J&K Council for Science & Technology.
Mr Khandey who chaired a meeting here to review the progress of various important Science related initiatives called for introducing more and more science popularisation programmes in schools and colleges and universities to inculcate scientific temper among the students. He said Science Scholarships, Skill imparting Courses, Science Quizzes, Seminars, Debates and Conferences will help the students to develop a scientific mind set and to keep up with modern education needs.
He said besides awarding those who develop or adopt innovative methods in various fields like teaching, agriculture, Bio-Technology etc. steps should be taken in promoting scholarship and fellowship programmes for students and working Scientists adding that enhanced funding is required to be earmarked for these.
Chief Secretary also received brief on the status of various proposed projects including Industrial Biotech Parks, National Science Museum at Srinagar and Jammu, Branch Laboratory of Indian Institute of Integrative Medicine (IIIM) in Leh, National Centre for Chemical Ecology and others. He directed for early submission of the DPRs to the concerned Union Ministries for approval, meanwhile asking the concerned departments to take necessary steps for identifying and earmarking land for these projects.
Mr. Khandey during the meeting also stressed upon the concerned departments to pursue with the Union Health Ministry enlisting of some important medicinal plants of J&K in the list of Medicinal Plants of the National Medicinal Plant Board (NMPB), New Delhi so that farmers of J&K also benefit from the promotional schemes of NMBP.
The meeting was attended by Principal Secretary, Planning and Development, Mr. B. R. Sharma, Commissioner Secretary, Science and Technology, Mr. Bipul Pathak, Divisional Commissioner, Kashmir, Mr. Shailendra Kumar, Commissioner Secretary, Health & Medical Education, Mr. Gazzanfar Hussain, Secretary Forests, Mr. Mohammad Afzal Bhat and other senior officers.