The cursed chapter of AFSPA in Jammu and Kashmir


The law was invoked in the state on September 10, 1990 after the state government issues a notification declaring the valley as a disturbed area. Eventually the disturbed area was extended to Jammu province by the state government, in 2001. The districts of Jammu, Kathua, Udhampur, Poonch, Rajouri and Doda were declared to be disturbed areas along with Srinagar, Budgam, Anantnag, Pulwama, Baramulla and Kupwara. The state government had however not issued the disturbed area notice for ten years for Jammu province from 1990 to 2001. There has been no such notification for Ladakh region and hence the AFSPA provision does not apply to Ladakh.

The problem in Jammu and Kashmir however is the lawlessness in the police department who refuses to file case against the security agencies and the police in case of human rights violation. Hence even the withdrawl of AFSPA would not make any difference until the laws are followed in cases of human rights violation. The mainstream leaders however argue that removal of AFSPA is the only way to muster credence in the democracy otherwise the state will be back to square one and will only be governed by a security establishment regardless of who wins elections.

Download the U4UVoice App Now:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *