Demonetization a revolutionary, bold move: Dr Jitendra Singh

Image Source :

Stresses promoting digital payments to weed out black money

UDHAMPUR, MARCH 18- With an aim to  promote Digital payment and cashless transaction in the district, a Digi-Dhan Mela was today organized by District administration, Udhampur, in collaboration with J&K Bank at New Town Hall here.

Union Minister of State for Development of North Eastern Region and Prime Minister’s Office, Dr. Jitendra Singh was the Chief Guest on the occasion while Minister of State for Finance and Planning, Ajay Nanda was the Guest of Honour.

MLA Udhampur Pawan Kumar Gupta, MLA Chenani Dina Nath Bhagat, Dr Manoj Singh from NITI Aayog,  GoI , Commissioner Secretary to Government IT Department Sanjeev Verma, District Development Commissioner Niraj Kumar, Tiru Sharma  from National Payment Corporation of India, Executive President J&K Bank, S S Sehgal, ADC Avny Lavasa, SDM Ramnagar Baseer-ul-Haq attended the Mela

Stating that the Digi Dhan fair is being organized in the 100 cities across the country in order to familiarize the common masses about the digital transactions, Dr Singh said that by holding Digi Dhan  Mela at Udhampur, the district has made  its presence felt across the country. Promoting digital payment is a part of Government’s overall strategy to weed out black money and corruption from public life.

The Union Minister of State, while highlighting the various achievements of the district said that the district is the first district of the State after Jammu and Srinagar which has its Post office Passport Seva Kendra and further asserted that very soon it will have its own radio station whose foundation stone has been laid earlier. He also stressed on the Devika- Tawi Rejuvenation plan and said that after River Ganges it will be the first river of North India whose rejuvenation plan has been made on the pattern of River Ganges Cleaning Project under NRCP.

He also laid focus on the mention of  District Kathua by Prime Minister, Narendra Modi during ‘Mann Ki Baat’ programme adding that about 125 crore Indians listened to this programme and came to know about this district of the state. Stressing that demonetization is one of the revolutionary and daring decisions taken by the present Government, the Union Minister said that the decision has been taken in the interest of poor people of the country.

Stating that the present Government is more focused towards the development of the country, Dr. Singh added that the Government has taken a number of steps in this direction. Dr. Singh along with Ajay Nanda also inspected various stalls installed on the occasion and asked the people of Udhampur to avail full benefit of these stalls. He also congratulated District Administration Udhampur for organizing the Digi Dhan mela in the district.

Ajay Nanda also threw light on various schemes such as Lucky Gram Yojana and Digi Dhan Yojana launched by the Government of India for promoting Digital payments.

MLA Udhampur, MLA Chenani also spoke on the occasion. The Executive President, J&K Bank S. S Sehgal also briefed the gathering about the achievements of the bank.

A total of 36 stalls have been set up by various Government Departments, J&K Bank and other banks, fertilizers industries besides other business establishment with an objective to create awareness among the common masses about the digital payments.

Various cultural programmes including Pakh, Geetru, Group Songs, Solo Songs were also organized by District Information Center, Udhampur and educational institutions. In addition to this, various contests were also held to encourage the participation of the common people and to generate awareness about the Digital payments among them.

Later, the Chief Guest felicitated the participants of cultural programmes and the best stalls. The stall set up by District Hospital Udhampur was adjudged as the best stall while the stalls installed by J&K Bank, JIO India got second and third prize respectively.

Among others, PO ICDS Rakesh Badyal,PO-DRDA Jagdish Chander Mehra ACR Subhash Chander Dogra, ACD Om Prakash, CPO Ashok Khajuria, CMO Dr. K.C.Dogra , CEO Bishan Singh, DyDEO Sapna Kotwal, DPO Sandeep Seointra, DFO Territorial Jugal Kishore, DFO SF Rajan Singh, DSWO Rachna Sharma, DIO Esha Chib, ARTO Rajesh Gupta, BDO Pardeep Singh besides other district officers and block level officers were also present on the occasion.

You might also like