Election Shocker; No BJP candidate in Sopore


Srinagar: Out of the 24 candidates who have filed their nominations till Friday, no BJP candidate has been fielded from Sopore Constituency  for the upcoming assembly elections in the state. The filed nominations include Ashraf Ganie of National conference, Nazir ahmad Naiko of People’s Democratic Party and Abdur Rashid Dar of Congress. Ganaie had some days back urged the Hurriyat Conference chairman, Syed Ali Geelani, to withdraw his poll boycott call, arguing “it could be a major setback for separatist leaders, if BJP bags Sopore on the strength of migrant voters.” BJP had earlier said that the party was focusing on Sopore constituency apart from others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *