ELECTION TALK: The Electorate & Power of the Ink



Vote Jammu Kashmir elections

More than 10.5 lakh voters will be deciding the fate of 123 contestants in the first phase of polling for 15 Assembly constituencies, covering six segments of Chenab Valley in Jammu region, all four seats of Ladakh  and five seats of Bandipora and Ganderbal districts.

As per the official sources, 1051642 electorates will participate in the First Phase of General Assembly Elections 2014 with  nearly 5.5 lakh males and more than 5 lakh females and 11 third gender electors. Out of 123 candidates, 15 candidates will be given the hold of each constituency as MLA. Nubra has the LEAST number of electorates with a mere 13054 voters while Bhaderwah has the maximum share of voters nearing 1 lakh. Total number of polling stations for phase 1 are 1787, with the highest in Leh as 211 and lowest in Gurez as a mere 27.


Six seats of Chenab Valley in Jammu region, which would go to polls  in first phase include Kishtwar with total number of electors as  78,849 and 143 polling stations, Inderwal with 83631 voters and 131 polling stations,  Doda with a total number of 139 electorates and 139 polling stations, Bhaderwah with the total electorate count as 104631 which is the highest of all 15 constituencies and polling stations as 152 which is the third highest, Ramban with a total number of 86161 and the number of polling stations as 121, Banihal with 78107 and number of polling stations as 97

In ladakh region, Nubra has the lowest count of voters as mere 13054 and polling station count as 63, Kargil with 59440 and total polling stations as 176 as the second highest, Zanskar with the voters share as 20696 and the total polling stations as 83.

Kashmir’s  five asssembly segments ready to go for polls, namely, Gurez with 17554 voters next to Nubra as teh second lowest count and total number of polling stations as the least-27 , Bandipora has a total of 98377 voters and 124 polling stations,  Sonawari’s total voter count  as 99449, including the 7 third gender voters of phase 1 and the total number of polling stations as 112, Kangan has the total number of voters as 69526 and the total number of polling stations in Kangan is 97 , Ganderbal has the total voters count as 90548 and total polling stations are 111.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.