Farooq Abdullah wins Srinagar bypoll, demands governor rule; says Hurriyat is stake holder

on Saturday won the by-poll to the Srinagar-Budgam parliamentary seat, beating his PDP rival Nazir Ahmad Khan.

Earlier, Abdullah had taken an unassailable lead of 10,255 votes. Farooq Abdullah won the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat by a margin of over 10000 votes. Pertinently, only 89,865 votes were polled in Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency out of 12.61 lakh total votes. The polling was held on April 9. At least eight civilians were killed in government force’s actions on the Election Day.


While talking to reporters he said, “I am thankful to Allah. Thank people who supported (us). This was the bloodiest election ever. Results show that people are in favour of NC,” he said.


He said that the Government failed to conduct peaceful election

Download the U4UVoice App Now:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *