ICC breaks silence on overthrow controversy in World Cup 2019 final

1,571


England: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has finally broken its silence on the overthrow controversy surrounding the World Cup 2019 final between England and New Zealand. England won their maiden World Cup title after a thrilling win over the Black Caps on the virtue of boundary count as the match ended in a tie before heading into the Super Over which also concluded in a tie as the two teams scored exactly the same number of runs.

England were awarded six runs off the fourth ball of the 50th over while chasing the target of 242 runs in the high-pressure game. The hosts were awarded 6 runs after an overthrow from Martin Guptill took an edge off Ben Stokes’ bat while he was diving to complete his second run and ran away for a four. After being awarded six runs off the delivery, England were left to get 3 runs off the final two balls, they managed to get two and tie the match as it went into a Super Over.

However, a controversy has now emerged on whether England were awarded an extra run in the final. According to ICC’s rule, extra runs are awarded in case of overthrows only when the batsmen have crossed before the balls is thrown. It wasn’t the case on Sunday as Adil Rashid and Stokes were far from crossing each other when Guptill fired a rocket throw from deep. However, England were awarded six runs.

ICC has failed to be drawn into the issue. A spokesperson of the board said that the international body will not comment on any decision taken by the on-field umpires. “The umpires take decisions on the field with their interpretation of the rules and we don’t comment on any decisions as a matter of policy,” a spokesperson was quoted as saying in a report.

You might also like