India Biennial Election to Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Council to be held on April 17

Srinagar, March 15: Seats of six members of the Legislative Council of the State of Jammu & Kashmir, elected by the Members of the Legislative Assembly of the state, are due to fall vacant following the retirement of the officials by whom these posts have been held. The names of the officials who are set to retire are as follows:

SI.NO. Constituency Name of member Date of Vacancy
1. Poonch District of Jammu Province Jahangir Hussain Mir 19.04.2017
2. Jammu Province Master Noor Hussain 19.04.2017
3. Jammu Province Jugal Kishore Sharma 19.04.2017
4. Kashmir Province Dr. S. Bashir AhmadShah (Veeri) 19.04.2017
5. Kashmir Province Mr. Yasir Reshi 19.04.2017
6. Kashmir Province S. Dharambir Singh 19.04.2017



Sl. No. Event Schedule
1. Issue of Notification 22.03.2017 (Wednesday)
2. Last date of making Nominations 29.03.2017  (Wednesday)
3. Scrutiny of Nominations 30.03.2017 (Thursday)
4. Last date for the withdrawal of candidatures 03.04.2017 (Monday)
5. Date of poll 17.04.2017 (Monday)
6. Counting of Votes 17.04.2017 (Monday) at 5.00 PM
7. Date before which election shall be completed 18.04.2017 (Tuesday)

As per the latest information, three separate elections will be held, as per the above schedule –  one, for filling two seats from Jammu Province, second, for filling the seats reserved for Poonch District of Jammu Province, and third, for filling three seats from Kashmir Province

Download the U4UVoice App Now:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *