Jammu and Kashmir: Eight candidates file nominations for Legislative Council elections


Jammu: Eight candidates of different political parties today filed their nomination papers here for the Legislative Council elections

The candidates from the People Democratic Party (PDP), Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), National Conference (NC) and Indian National Congress (INC) filed their nomination papers before the Assembly Secretary, Mohammad Ramzan who is also the Returning Officer for the elections.

The PDP candidates namely Abdul Qayoom Dar (Jammu Province) and Yasir Reshi (Kashmir Province) filed their nominations in the presence of party leaders including sitting Ministers and Legislators.

Dar is district President of Rajouri, while PDP is repeating its outgoing MLC Yasir Rishi.

BJP candidates including Vikram Randhawa (Jammu Province), Pradeep Sharma, (District Poonch), Girdhari Lal Raina and Ashok Kumar Bhat (Kashmir Province) filed their nomination papers in the presence of Deputy Chief Minister and other Ministers and Legislators.

Vikram Randhawa is BJP Industry Cell State Convener.

Pradeep Sharma has contested election from Poonch and Raina, is close to RSS and heading the Jammu and Kashmir Vichar Manch (JKVM).

Raina, who is the second KP to be sent to upper house of state legislature, is an officer in Agriculture department.

The candidates of NC and INC including Aga Syed Mehmood (Kashmir Province) and Thakur Balbir Singh (Jammu Province) also filed their nomination papers in the presence of the party leaders.

The Election Commission will hold polls to 6 seats of Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council on April 17.

The elections for 6 seats of the upper house will be held on April 17.

The voting hours have been fixed from 9.00 AM to 4.00 PM.

“The counting will be held on the same day. The formal notification in this regard would be issued on March 22,” CEO J&K Shantmanu said.

As many as 87 elected and 2 nominated members of legislative assembly (MLA) will take part in polling through open ballot.

Six seats of legislative council shall fall vacant on April 19 due to retirement of Jehangir Hussain Mir, Jugal Kishore, Dr Bashir Ahmad Shah Veeri, Master Noor Hussain, S Dharambir Singh Oberoi (deceased) and Yasir Reshi

You might also like