J&K ReT Teachers Announce Series Of Protests From June 11: May Go For Indefinite Strike


Up in arms against denial of 7th Pay Commission benefits to over forty thousands ReTs and RReTS working under SSA, the Jammu and Kashmir ReT Teachers Forum has announced another protest programme from June 11.

This was stated by senior vice chairman of JKReT Teachers Forum, Bhupinder Singh, while addressing a press conference here today. He alleged that the present Government was hell bent to destabilize the SSA teachers, who were appointed by JK Government led by then Chief Minister Mufti Mohd Sayed when all the recruitment in Government service was banned.

“Soon after coming to power, this PDP-BJP Government came up with the idea of the screening test, which opposed by the ReTs and now they are hell bent to label us as contractual teachers by not extending the benefits of 7th Pay Commission,” he said and reminded that the Education Department has regularized their services as General Line Teachers and it is the responsibility of State Government to give them salary from State budget.

Bhupinder Singh announced that keeping in view the anti-ReT stand of the State Government, the JKReTTF has decided  another protest calendar with complete boycott of their duties in all the Primary,  Middle and High Schools of the State on 11th, 13th and 14th June,  which will be followed by sit in at Partap Park, Srinagar on the day of  Eid-Ul-Fitr.

“On 11th, 13th and 14th of June, all the schools will remain closed and teacher will hold protest demonstrations at zonal headquarters and DC offices. We will celebrate the Eid festival at Partap Park Srinagar and march towards the Chief Minister residence Srinagar,” he announced and threatened to launch indefinite strike if no decision is taken on de-linking SSA salary from the Central source of funding and 7th Pay Commission benefits are not extended to SSA teachers.

Singh also appealed the leaders of different Forums to come jointly and participate in the protest series.

Those who were present in the press conference, included Akhtar Abbas, Pritam Dhaman, Tirath Singh Balwal, Drub Singh, Pawan Kumar, Sunil Kumar, Ravi Kant, Sanjay Choudhary, Vijay Kumar, Sanjeev Guelria and others.


You might also like