JU Celebrates 69th Independence day

Jammu: The 69th Independence Day of the Democratic Republic of India, was celebrated with patriotic fervor and gaiety at the University of Jammu

Prof. R.D Sharma, Hon’ble Vice Chancellor, University of Jammu, hoisted the National Flag at the Fountain Plaza.  In his address he greeted the University Fraternity and paid tributes to great leaders who made enormous sacrifices to carry out a prolonged struggle for liberating our Country from the Colonial Raj and urged upon the University fraternity to inculcate the attitudes of Constitutionalism.Prof Sharma Called upon the University fraternity to take the pledge to remain in the Office for full time and not leave Office till day’s work is over.Vice-Chancellor said that by  honest and dedicated efforts , the work  becomes visible  and one then don’t have to put a effort to display it and this is not a supreme sacrifice but just a minimum commitment which one should adhere to.Prof Sharma further reiterated that the role of those teachers cannot be ignored, whose students everyday indulge in taking law and order of the Campus in their hands . Prof Sharma also highlighted and lauded the contributions of faculty members in various disciplines and that of students & Scholars who  also  brought laurels  on both National and International platforms in last one year.

The Security Staff of the University led by Capt. S. R. Dubey, Security Officer, presented the Guard of Honour at the arrivals of the Chief Guest. The patriotic songs were played, balloons were released and the sweets were distributed.

An award of appreciation was also presented to Mr. Mukesh Kumar, Sweeper, for his honesty.

On this occasion, cultural presentations were also presented by the wards of the employees of University of Jammu, Kartikey Chowdhary, Kavya Langar, Deepika Bali and Molishka Shonka. Earlier Prof. Pankaj.K.Srivastava, Dean Students Welfare, delivered the welcome address. Prof. Alka Sharma, Co-Chairperson, Campus Cultural Committee, presented the Vote of Thanks. The programme was compeered by Mr. Sumeet Sharma.

Among others, Prof. Poonam Dhawan, Dean Academic Affairs, Prof. Archana Kesar, Dean, Research Studies, Prof. Keshav Sharma, Registrar, Prof. M.K.Dhar, Special Advisor to V.C, Prof. B.C. Sharma, Dean Students Placement, Deans, Heads of the Teaching Departments, Prof. Dhian.S. Bhau, Director, Directorate of Sports & Physical Education, Prof. Versha Mehta, Provost, Hostel (Girls),  Prof. Jasbir Singh, Provost Hostels (Boys), Prof. V.D. Singh, Director, Directorate of Distance Education,  Prof. J.P.S. Joorel, President JUTA, Sh. Jai Kumar, Sharma, Director, College Development Council,  Sh. Sanjeev Mahajan, Controller of Examination, Dr. Jatinder Khajuria, Joint Registrar (Finance), Dr. Dhermendra Magotra, Joint Regsitrar(Examination), Sh. Ashwani Padha, Joint Registrar, Rectors/Directors, Offsite Campus, Dr. Anupama Vohra, Associate Dean (SW), Dr. Ab. Rashid Manhas, Dr. Yudhbir Singh, Assistant Dean (SW), President & Officer bearers of Jammu University Non Teaching Employee Union, Faculty Members, Officers, Staff, Research Scholars and the Students of the University were also present.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *