Justice J.S. Khehar appointed as 44th Chief Justice of India


To be sworn in January 4, Justice Khehar will have a tenure for over seven months till August 28.

The President on Monday appointed Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar as the 44th Chief Justice of India from January 4, 2017.The incumbent Chief Justice T.S. Thakur on December 6, 2016 communicated his recommendation to the government to appoint Justice Khehar. Justice Thakur retires on January 3, 2017 after a tenure of a year.

Also Read:Woah! Hackers disclosed Barkha Dutt’s bank details, she got a whooping amount in her bank.

Though the government notification informing the President’s clearance of Justice Khehar as next Chief Justice of India comes close to the swearing-in day, the decades-old convention of following the seniority norm has been duly complied with.Justice Khehar, who led the Constitution Bench which scrapped the government’s National Judicial Appointments Commission law, will be the first Chief Justice from the Sikh community.

Also Read:RBI to soon issue new Rs 50 notes

Justice Khehar will have a tenure for over seven months till August 28, 2017. He assumed office as a judge of the Supreme Court on September 13, 2011.Justice Khehar headed the bench which had set aside the imposition of President’s Rule in Arunachal Pradesh in January 2016.

You might also like