Modi swearing-in ceremony Updates: Amit Shah reaches PM residence ahead of ceremony


New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and other elected MPs will be sworn-in to the government at a big ceremony on Thursday evening at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Over 8,000 guests are expected to attend the grand ceremony in the national capital with elaborate security arrangements put in place. Over 10,000 security personnel from Delhi Police and paramilitary forces have been deployed at various locations across the city.

Also Read:

PM Modi, Amit Shah and other top leaders of BJP and NDA will be visiting Rajghat, Sadaiv Atal Samadhi and National War Memorial in the morning before the swearing-in ceremony in the evening. The swearing-in-ceremony of Modi and his Council of Ministers is scheduled to take place at 7 pm at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. A number of heads of states, heads of governments, constitutional authorities, diplomats, senior political leaders, government officials and media persons are scheduled to attend the ceremony.

Chief ministers of several states have also been invited while Opposition leaders Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi will also be attending the oath-taking ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. A day before the swearing-in West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee turned back from her promise to attend the ceremony after reports of BJP inviting families of BJP workers killed in Bengal poll violence. On Wednesday, Arun Jaitley, who was handling the finance ministry earlier, said that he would not play any role in the next government owing to his ailing health. Meanwhile, Modi and Amit Shah reportedly gave the final touches to the next NDA government on Wednesday night at a private meeting.