Mumbai Indians Pacer Rasikh Salam banned for two years for submitting faulty birth certificate


NEW DELHI: A faulty birth certificate has paved way for the banishment of cricketer Rasikh Salam from the India Under-19 squad as BCCI handed a two-year ban to the promising young talent on Wednesday. The BCCI has penalised Salam by withdrawing the Jammu and Kashmir fast bowler’s selection from the India U-19 squad for the upcoming tour to England. The Indian U-19 team is scheduled to play an ODI series kickstarting from July 21.

In a press release, the BCCI also announced the replacement of Salam for the England tour. “Rasikh Salam has been banned by the BCCI for two years following a discrepancy, submission of faulty birth certificate to BCCI,” the board said in a release.

An exciting young prospect, Salam debuted in first-class cricket when he represented Jammu Kashmir against Guwahati last year. Salam had seven scalps and scored 45 runs in his first two first-class cricket matches. Salam’s stocks spiked when he played for the Mumbai Indians in the recently concluded edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Salam was only the second cricketer from Jammu and Kashmir to feature in India’s cash-rich league. Salam had played for Rohit Sharma-led side against Delhi Capitals in the IPL. The teenage sensation also went on to become the youngest cricketer (aged 17) to represent the Mumbai Indians. He is second after Parvez Rasool to feature in the IPL. Rasool played for Pune Warriors and Sunrisers Hyderabad during his prime.

“We have two administrators now and if such an episode happens despite their presence, it is indeed sad. They should be keeping a tab to ensure that players don’t fudge their age as it is a sin and also deprives other youngsters of the opportunity to shine,” a former Jammu and Kashmir Cricket Association (JKCA) member was quoted as saying.

The revised U19 squad is as follows:

Priyam Garg (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Thakur Tilak Verma, Divyansh Saxena, Shaswat Rawat, Dhruv Chand Jurel (WK), Shubhang Hegde, Ravi Bishnoi, Vidyadhar Patil, Sushant Mishra, Prabhat Maurya, Sameer Rizvi, Pragnesh Kanpillewar, Kamran Iqbal, Priyesh Patel (WK), Karan Lal, Purnank Tyagi, Anshul Khamboj.

You might also like