Natrang stages ‘Remix’ a play by children at Matrika Auditorium, SMVDU


Jammu and Kashmir News

Katra, July 20: Natrang staged Hindi play ‘Remix’ in the Children Theatre Extravaganza at Matrika Auditorium, SMVD, University Katra. The play was designed and directed by Sumeet Sharma who is a post graduate in Dramatics and also a National Awardee for Direction in Theatre.   The play was produced in a 45 day Children Theatre Workshop held at Natrang Studio Theatre, Jammu. Lot of experts conducted classes in the camp including Devika Ranjan from Washington DC (USA) Chander Shekhar (Cartooning) Dr. Neelam Khajuria (Yoga) and Akaash Dogra (Dance)


The play ‘Remix’ while presenting many new ideas before the audience, revisits some of the old ones also. As those are ever-relevant and have a lasting impact on their childhood. Though the play is by children but it has a lot to communicate to the adult audience, majority of them are their parents and relatives. In the play, Children resist from presenting fairy-tales and fantasies but talk about the core issues which are responsible for shaping their present and future as well. The roots of the play go long back to early nineties when the famous children plays ‘Mere Hisse Ki Dhoop Kahan Hai’ and ‘Aap Hamare Hain Kaun’ were created by Mr. Balwant Thakur. These plays created a unique mark at the National Theatre scenario because of their content, form and presentation. As the director himself is a product of these plays and the present year’s performance is the silver jubilee year performance of Natrang Children Theatre, he finds it appropriate to recreate some of the scenes of these plays and present them in his own genre. But despite presenting the hard hitting and contemplating situations like population, competition, pollution etc. the play maintained the chord of celebration with the sumptuous dose of wit and humor for which the director is to be attributed.

The children who participated in the play included Gopi Sharma, Sanchita Dubey, Chander Pratap Singh, Chirag Anand, Mihir Gujral, Saba Jamwal, Yajur Mahajan, Sanyam Gupta, Shreya Gupta, Riya Jandial, Vedhant Suri, Shivangini Sharma, Aadya Gupta, Sugandha Gupta, Ayn Bhola, Saanvi Anand, Gauri Sharma, Aanandita Sethi, Navnoor Rai, Peher Bains, Prisha Pant, Saumya Kapur, Sanket Bhagat, Aniket Chakrabarty, Devisha Gaur, Ojas Kapur, Drish Dev Singh, Enakshi Pant, Mania Gujral, Rudra Kohli, Akshat Kohli, Akul Mahajan, Adil Mahajan, Kalpesh Singh, Rashvin Kaur, Sahil Anand, Arnav Anand, Baani Kaur, Peehu Bargotra, Vitasta Zutshi, Akshat Mahajan, Abijay Kesar, Saksham Mahajan, Siya Arora, Arnav Mahajan, Karan Sahib Singh, Daksh Goswami, Rudraksh Goswami and Rohit Sharma.

Kritika Singh Bhau scored the music. Rakesh Kumar Kona was on Rhythm, the lights were executed by Gaurav Jamwal. The show was coordinated by Neeraj Kant and Mohd. Yaseen. Agam Kaur did the presentations.