NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh is New Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman


NDA candidate and JD(U) member Harivansh Narayan Singh was Thursday elected as Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman, defeating opposition’s three-time Congress parliamentarian BK Hariprasad.

Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu initiated the process of the election by calling for division of votes in the House.

While Harivansh Narayan Singh secured 125 votes, Hariprasad got 105.

The post of Rajya Sabha deputy chairman has been lying vacant since the retirement of P J Kurien on July 1.


Leader of the House Arun Jaitley, who is recovering from a kidney ailment, attended the proceedings after a long gap.

Modi praised Singh’s talent for writing, and said he was a favourite of former Prime Minister Chandra Shekhar’s.

BK Hariprasad suffered setbacks when both the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the YSR Congress (YSRCP) chose to abstain during voting.

The AAP said it would skip the vote since Congress president Rahul Gandhi didn’t appeal for its support — and also because it wouldn’t vote for an NDA candidate.

The YSRCP, on its part, didn’t want to be seen as aligning with the Congress.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.