New Smart-city list announced; Will Jammu be selected or Srinagar

Jammu and Kashmir

Jammu, May 24: 

Government of India today announced the names of 13 more cities that will be developed under the Centre’s ‘Smart City Mission’ and both the J&K capitals have been selected from which one will be selected for evaluation under Smart City Mission.

Twenty-three cities from different states and Union terrritories, which failed to get notified in the first round of a competition held in January, participated in the ‘Fast Track Competition’.

The result of which was announced by Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu today out of which only 13 could qualify for the smart city projects

Other cities, which won this round, were Chandigarh, Raipur (Chhattisgarh), New Town Kolkata, Bhagalpur (Bihar), Panaji (Goa), Port Blair (Andaman and Nicobar Islands), Imphal (Manipur), Ranchi (Jharkhand), Agartala (Tripura) and Faridabad (Haryana).

Naidu told a press conference that total investment of Rs 30,229 crore have proposed for the 13 cities selected.

With this, the investment proposed by 33 cities (20 cities announced in January and 13 cities today) under the smart city plans is now Rs 80, 789 crore, he added.

Seven capital cities — Patna (Bihar), Shimla (Himachal Pradesh), Naya Raipur (Chhattisgarh), Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh), Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh), Bengaluru (Karnataka) and Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala) – which were not included in the 100 cities shortlisted for the competition will be able to participate in the next round with other cities, the minister said.

He added that, also, one out of Meerut and Rai Bareilly in Uttar Pradesh and another out of Jammu and Srinagar in Jammu and Kashmir would be selected for evaluation under the mission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *