No-confidence motion: Shiv Sena, BJD to abstain from voting, Lok Sabha strength down to 487


As the Lok Sabha Friday took up the debate on the no-trust vote against the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led NDA government, the Biju Janata dal (BJD) walked out of the lower house and BJP’s ally Shiv Sena informed they will not attend the proceedings.

The Shiv Sena will abstain from voting on the no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha moved by the Opposition against the Modi government, party sources said today.

Shiv Sena MPs – of whom there are 18 – will not attend Lok Sabha proceedings on Friday when a no-confidence motion is being debated and voted on. of which it is an ally.

However, one Sena MP Anandrao Adsul told news agency ANI, “We are boycotting parliamentary work today and haven’t even signed our attendance.”


That means they will be abstaining from voting in the motion against the BJP-led NDA government,

In the 524-member House, the ruling NDA has the support of 315 MPs and the UPA 63. The focus today was on the Shiv Sena , BJD, AIADMK and TRS, which have 18, 19, 37 and 11 MPs, respectively. With the Shiv Sena and the BJD skipping the session, the number of MPs in the house is now down to 487, i.e., 524- (18+19). The ruling dispensation requires 268 votes to defeat the motion.

Yesterday, the Sena’s chief whip in the Lok Sabha Chandrakant Khaire issued a whip to MPs asking them to be present in the House when the motion was discussed and support the government.

Hours after issuing the whip, the Sena shifted its stance and said party chief Uddhav Thackeray had asked his party MPs to remain in Delhi and a final decision on supporting the Modi government would be taken this morning before the debate started.

“Sena MPs have been asked to remain absent by Uddhav ji during the voting on the no-confidence motion,” a close aide of the Sena chief told PTI.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu had sought the support of other parties for the motion, citing the NDA government’s “non-fulfillment of the promise” to grant special status to his state.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.