Omar reviews relief, rehabilitation operation


                 Breaches on River Jehlum being filled up speedily

SRINAGAR: All the breaches of River Jehlum developed due to devastating floods are being filled up speedily. This information was given in a high level meeting chaired by Chief Minister, Omar Abdullah here on Saturday to get latest appraisal of the status of the relief and rehabilitation operation presently going on in the State.

It was stated that the breech near Convent School, Rajbagh will be filled up completely within next three days. The Commissioner Secretary PHE and Flood Control stated that dewatering pumps wherever required are functional fully and almost all flood water has been dewatered from the inundated areas in the Valley.

The Chief Minister was informed that 80 percent ration has been released to the ration depots for the current month so far. It was stated that the LPG Bottling Plant at Pampore will start trail running from 26th of this month. The Chief Minister also received brief on the distribution of essential commodities, fuel and LPG in the State.

It was stated that the health indicators in the State are normal and there is no report of any epidemic or water borne diseases from anywhere. It was stated that proper surveillance is being conducted to check the diseases and provide necessary medicare to the people wherever required.

The meeting was told that 765 tonnes of garbage and debris has been lifted from Srinagar city during the last day and more than 150 individual houses have been fumigated in Rajbagh area.

The Chief Minister was informed that power supply in the Valley is normal and entire Srinagar city is receiving electricity. It was stated that Rajbagh Receiving Station has been made functional since yesterday. Electricity supply problem in Koker Bazar and some other localities came up also in the meeting. The Chief Engineer, M&ER Kashmir said that these problems could be of local nature and he would look into these for corrections.

The meeting was attended by various Ministers, the Chief Secretary, Principal Secretaries, Commissioner Secretaries, other Administrative Secretaries and senior officers.

You might also like