While people look to Govt formation in J&K, politicians have their eyes set on Legislative Council


CHAIRMAN COUNCILWhile all eyes are set on the formation of next government in Jammu and Kashmir, the politicians who lost the elections, the wannabe leaders, and people with political connections have instead set their focus on the State Legislative Council which shall see more than half the seats getting vacated in the next six months. These seats would be either filled through nomination or elections to be held by the Election Commission. As per latest information there would be around 19 seats getting vacated in the council by March 2015, and 11 of these will be filled through polls while rest would be nominated by the state government.

Prominent among those who are retiring this year include Amrit Malhotra, Congress leader, Javed Rana, the Deputy Chairman of LC has won the assembly poll while three more members of the house have been elected in the recent polls. Two MLCs from NC Sheikh Ghulam Rasool and Ajatshatru Singh had resigned from the party, and they are due to retire in March. Devinder Singh Rana, and Abdul Majid Laram both have been elected to Legislative Assembly but they have more than four years term. Ashraf Mir another MLCs who has been elected has more than 2 years terms left.
Those who are elected to the Legislative Council against these candidates will get limited terms against the vacanies of Rana, Laram, and Mir. The new government can nominated eight new MLCs as those nomited by the previos government will end their term by March 2015. Apart from that eight elected MLCs would also retire simultaneously.
With BJP, and PDP most likely to form the next government it is most likely that both the parties will equally divide the MLCs to be elected, and nominated to the house so that those leaders who lost the election or those who made strong contributions can be accomodated in the government. The Council route can also be taken by leaders who were busy with election strategy, and could not fight the polls.

The J&K LC has 36 members but the present strength is only 34 because two MLCs from the local bodies could not be elected due to failure of the government to hold local bodies elections.

The MLCs who are going to retire include Ajay Sadhotra (National Conference-Nominated), Bashir Ahmad Magray (Congress-Nominated) Aga Sayeed (National Conference-Elected), B R Kundal (Congress-Elected), Khalid Nujeeb Suhrawardhy (National Conference-Elected), Nurbo Gyaltsan (Congress-Elected), Ravinder Sharma (Congress-Nominated), Rafiq Ahmad Shah (Nationalist Panthers Party-Elected, now in PDP), Ghulam Qadir Pardesi (National Conference-Nominated), Vijay Bakaya (National Conference-Elected) and Syed Asgar Ali (PDP-Elected).

You might also like