President Ram Nath Kovind visits Leh


LEH, AUGUST 21: President, Ram Nath Kovind today arrived here on his maiden visit to the desert district Leh.

On his arrival at Kushok Bakula Rinpoche Airport Leh this morning, the President was accorded warm welcome by Governor N N Vohra, Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti, Deputy Chief Minister Dr Nirmal Singh, Education Minister Sayeed Mohammad Altaf Bukhari, Minister for Public Works, Naeem Akhtar, Minister for Ladakh Affairs Chering Dorjey, Chief of Army Staff General Bipin Rawat, Member Parliament Thupstan Tsewang, CEC LAHDC Leh Dr Sonam Dawa, Chief Secretary B B Vyas, Principal Secretary to Chief Minister Rohit Kansal and other dignitaries.

Mehbooba throws open Kashmir University’s Kargil, Leh satellite campuses

Built at a cumulative cost of Rs 56 cr, the two campuses to have all student, teacher residential facilities

The Chief Minister directed starting undergraduate courses at the campus which have a good demand from the job market besides courses on regional development, ethnography, geology etc. She also directed the Deputy Commissioner to work out a permanent water supply source to the campus.

Minister for Cooperatives & Ladakh Affairs, T. Dorjey; Minister for Education, Syed Altaf Bukhari; CEC, LAHDC, Leh, Dr. Sonam Dawa; Vice Chancellor, University of Kashmir, Prof. Khursheed Iqbal Indrabi; executive councillors; officers of the university and district administration were present on the occasion.

At Leh, Mehbooba felicitates young Everest conquerors

LEH, AUGUST 21: On her visit to Leh, Chief Minister, Mehbooba Mufti felicitated the young team of mountaineers who scaled Mount Everest last year.

Belonging to Leh and adjoining areas these young intrepids went to an expedition to the world’s highest peak and scaled it on May 21, 2016.

The Chief Minister appreciated the feat achieved by these young mountaineers and hoped they would guide and train other young adventure lovers also. She said the entire State shares the joy of their success and good wishes to them.

The members of the team include Stazin Lasbait, Tashi Lasbait, Tsering Angmi and Rigzin Ducker.

Minister for Cooperatives and Ladakh Affairs, T. Dorjey was also present on the occasion.

Download the U4UVoice App Now:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *