Promotion of DGPs, IGPs, DIGs, SSPs in J-K

Jammu February 6: Quite a few top brass officers including Additional DGPs, IGPs, DIGs and SSPs who have completed their indispensable services as IPS officers ( J&K Cadre) are likely get a promotion and this things will be discussed in a meeting today.

The meeting regarding the same was scheduled for 11 a.m. today to be headed by Chief Secretary BR Sharma and comprising Principal Secretary (Home) RK Goyal and Director General of Police (DGP) K Rajendra Kumar. The suggestions for the promotions would go to the State Administrative Council (SAC), which was constituted by Governor NN Vohra day before yesterday. The State Administrative Council includes both Advisors to the Governor—Parvez Dewan and Khurshid Ahmad Ganai and  few other top officers.

ALSO READ: SSP, Crime Jammu has a message for Social Media Users in J&K

At a time a state can have four Director Generals of Police (DGPs) whereas currently we have only two DGs—K Rajendra (DGP) and SK Mishra (DG Prisons). All the officers who will be considered for the rank of four Additional DGs belong to 1986 batch and the list includes S Gopal Reddy, an IPS officer of 1985 batch, who is on inter-State deputation to Telangana, Shesh Pal Vaid, Additional DGP Headquarters, D R Doley, who is on Central deputation and Naveen Aggarwal, ADGP Trainings in Police Headquarters.

Out of these four officers, two are on deputation while two others Dr Vaid and Aggarwal are posted in Jammu and Kashmir.

At the moment, the six Additional DGPs in the State includes Dr Vaid, Aggarwal, VK Singh (ADGP Security), SM Sahai, ADGP Armed, Dilbagh Singh, ADG Headquarters and Lalat Indu Mohanty, Chairman, Police Recruitment Board and ADG Home Guards. But only Dr Vaid and Aggarwal have completed 30 years of services which is the prerequisite for the post of the DG.

ALSO READ: SSP Traffic Mohan Lal speaks on the deteriorating traffic in Jammu

ALSO READ:Being Human: 10 human rights you must know

And since a State cannot have more than four DGs at a time so two IGPs are likely to be promoted as ADGPs.

Two other top brass officers of 1991 batch ,Ranjan Swain, who is on deputation to Research and Analysis (RAW) wing and  AK Choudhary, Managing Director, Police Housing Corporation can be promoted to ADG ranks as both of them have completed years of mandatory services for posting as ADGs.

Seven DIGs can be promoted to IGP rank as they have completed 18 years mandatory service for the rank. These officers of 1997 and 1998 batch include Viplav Kumar Choudhary, DIG Traffic Jammu and working as Incharge IGP Traffic Jammu, Gareeb Dass, DIG North Kashmir Range, Vijay Kumar, who is on Central deputation with CRPF, Alok Kumar, DIG Armed Jammu, Surinder Gupta, DIG Udhampur-Reasi range, Johnny Williams, DIG Rajouri-Poonch range, all IPS officers of 1997 batch and Ahfadul Mujtaba, DIG SSG, an IPS officer of 1998 batch. Ashok Kumar Atri, who was IPS officer of 1997 batch, had retired on January 31 this year.Though Viplav Kumar, Gareeb Dass, Vijay Kumar and Alok Kumar were Regular Recruits (direct IPS officers)  but Surinder Gupta, Johnny Williams, AK Atri and Ahfadul Mujtaba belonged to State Police Services (SPS).

ALSO READ: Know your rights: What to do when you are caught with alcohol

Since there is vacancy for the DIG post  so Uttam Chand, SSP Jammu, an IPS officer of 2002 batch, who has completed the mandatory 14 years of service for the said post can get promotion.

As DIGs will be promoted to IG ranks so in order to fill up the vacancies, the Screening Committee might consider IPS officers of 2004 and 2005 batch for promotion as DIGs which includes Atul Goel, who is on deputation with the National Investigating Agency (NIA), Deepak Slathia, Commandant Indian Reserve Police (IRP) 7th battalion, Rafiq-ul-Hassan, Commandant IR 12th, Varinder Sharma, SSP CID Jammu and Vijay Kumar, Commandant, IR 10th.

You May Also Like: Inept DIG Basant Rath trying to get posted in Jammu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *