Rajendra discusses arrangements to conduct a grand Police Public Mela


Police Public Mela in Jammu:
JAMMU: 25th Police Public Mela would be held in Jammu on February 22, 2015 (Sunday). Arrangements for day long Mela, were discussed in a senior police officers meeting at Police Headquarters (PHQ) here today.
The meeting was chaired by Director General of Police (DGP), Mr. K. Rajendra Kumar and attended by senior officers including Additional Directors General of Police, Mr. SP Vaid, Mr. Navin Aggarwal, Mr. VK Singh, Mr. SM Sahai and Mr. Dilbag Singh.
Addressing the meeting, Mr. Rajendra said that Police Public Mela is a grand event organized by the Jammu and Kashmir Police Wives Welfare Association (JKPWWA) since years. The event much popular among the people and they show much interest in these Melas both at Srinagar and Jammu. People from all shades of life visit the Melas and avail opportunity of having items of their choices, from all the regions of the State under one roof. These Melas have also brought police and public together to work for peace and prosperity of the State, he added.
Mr. Rajendra informed that 25th Police Public Mela, which was earlier scheduled at Srinagar in September and was postponed due to floods in the valley, would now be held in Jammu on February 22, 2015 at Police Sports Stadium Gulshan Ground here. The Mela will be inaugurated at 10 a.m. and will conclude at 4 p.m. He disclosed that Raffle Draw will take place at the venue at 4.30 p.m. in presence of the public. “Bumper prizes have made the event more attractive and people from all corners of the State wait for months to test their luck through raffle draws. Transparency in raffle draw has strengthened the trust of the people upon the organizers”, said Mr. Rajendara. He further said that the sources gained through these Melas are utilized for the welfare of police martyr’s families under various welfare schemes adopted by the Police Organization, which include free education to their wards.
During the meeting, discussions were held in regard to various arrangements in and around the venue. For this purpose various committees headed by senior officers were constituted and asked to start the preparations for the grand event. It was decided that the stall holders of different police establishments across the State would be geared up for their massive participation in the Mela with their products. Sufficient space would be provided to them to establish their stalls for exhibition and sale of products.
Mr. Rajendra disclosed that raffle draw tickets, already sold would remain intact. Special counters for sale of raffle draw tickets would be established in and around the venue on the Mela day. Dy. Commandant IRP 10th Bn. Mr. Atul Sharma has been nominated as Nodal Officer for the event.
The DGP stressed upon the officers present in the meeting to coordinate at all levels to make the event a success. He said that committeese said the constituted should start the work by now and the officers assigned with different tasks should be held responsible. He asked the officers heading different arrangement committees to hold meetings and discuss the preparations for smooth conduct of the event.
In the outset of the meeting, the Additional Director General of Police (Headquarters), Mr. S. P. Vaid briefed the meeting about the arrangements put in place for the conduct of grand event. He said that all arrangements were finalized at Srinagar for 25th Mela. But due to the devastating floods, the event could not be conducted there and it was decided that Mela would be now conducted at Jammu. He informed that raffle draw tickets already sold for the said Mela would remain intact and included in the raffle draw. However tickets would also be available for sale on Mela day at the venue, he added.
Among others, the meeting was attended by IsGP, AK Choudhary, HK Lohia, MS Salaria, Yoginder Koul, Alok Puri, MA Khan, Rajesh Kumar, Mukesh Singh, Danish Rana, SL Sharma, SA Watali and MA Ganai DIsGP, Johny William, S Parminder Singh, SA Beig, JL Sharma and BK Rath, AIsGP, Sheikh Junaid Mehmood, Rajeshwar Singh, Tahir Sajjad and Sheikh Zulfikar Azad SSsP, Vijay Kumar, Mubashir Latifi Anita Sharma, Ashok Kumar, Stenzin Narboo, Sr. ADO (PHQ) BA Shah and other police officers.

You might also like