‘Sau ka Sikka’ New Rs 100 coin coming soon! Details Here.

Ministry of Finance has decided to introduce another new currency. This time it is a Rs 100 coin. Apart from this, the face of Rs 10 and Rs 5 coins will also change.

Government of India, in a notification said, “The ministry in exercise of the powers conferred by clauses (d) and (e) of sub-section (2) of section 24 of the Coinage Act, 2011 (11 of 2011), the Central Government, has decided to coined Rs 100 – which are presently distributed in notes form, and introduce Rs 10 and Rs 5 coins with new features at the Mint for issue under the authority of the Central Government to commemorate the occasion of Birth Centenary of Dr. M. S. Subbulakshmi and Dr. M.G. Ramachandran Birth Centenary.”

Rs 100 coins will be launched in two format first one baring the mark of Dr. M. S. Subbulakshmi and the second one barring of Dr. M.G. Ramachandran Birth Centenary.

Rs 5 coins will have Dr. M.G. Ramachandran Birth Centenary mark and Rs 10 coins will have Dr. M. S. Subbulakshmi mark.

Rs 100 coin features: 

This face of the coin shall bear the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar in the centre with the legend Satyamev Jayate inscribed below, flanked on the left periphery with the word Bharat in Devnagari script and on the right periphery with the word India in English.

It shall also bear the Rupee symbol “₹” and denominational value “100” in International Numerals below the Lion Capitol.


This face of the coin shall bear the portrait of Dr. M. S. SUBBULAKSHMI in the centre. The inscription Dr. M. S. SUBBULAKSHMIshall be written in Devnagari script on the upper periphery and “BIRTH CENTENARY OF DR. M. S. SUBBULAKSHMI” in English on the lower periphery of the coin.  The year “1916- 2016” in international numeral shall be flanked on right periphery of the coin.

Another design involves face of the coin to bear the portrait of “Dr. M. G. RAMACHANDRAN” in the centre, with inscription in hindi language in Devnagari on upper periphery and “DR. M. G. RAMACHANDRAN BIRTH CENTENARY” in English on the lower periphery of the coin.

The year “1917-2017” in international numeral shall be flanked below the portrait of Dr. M. G. Ramachandran.