Shri Amarnathji Yatra 2015: Post Yatra Review; Governor thanks State Government, Security Forces and all other involved agencies for smooth conduct of Yatra


Jammu and Kashmir News

SRINAGAR, AUGUST 31: Governor N. N. Vohra, who is the Chairman of Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board, lauded the very high level of coordination among the State Government, Army, Central Armed Police Forces, J&K Police, Shrine Board and each of the concerned State Government Departments, agencies and local stakeholders involved with the management of Shri Amarnathji Yatra-2015. He also thanked the people, particularly of Anantnag and Ganderbal districts, for their valuable support for ensuring the smooth and peaceful conduct of this arduous pilgrimage. He also conveyed his thanks to Mr. Mufti Mohd. Sayeed, Chief Minister; Dr. Nirmal Kumar Singh, Deputy Chief Minister; Choudhary Lal Singh, Minister for Health and Medical Education; Mr. Sukhnandan Kumar, Minister for Public Health and Engineering; Sayeed Mohammad Altaf Bukhari, Minister for Public Works; Mian Altaf Ahmad, Mr. Ishfaq Ahmad Sheikh  and Mr. Altaf Ahmad Wani, who are the Members of the State Legislative Assembly from Kangan, Ganderbal and Pahalgam Constituencies, respectively, for their continuous support to the conduct of the Yatra.

The Governor was addressing the Post-Yatra 2015 Review Meeting which was followed by a felicitation function at Raj Bhavan here today.

The Governor observed that Post Yatra Review Meetings have been convened every year, for the past five years, immediately after the culmination of the Yatra, with a view to identifying the weak points in the arrangements for the just concluded Yatra and bringing about progressive improvements in the management of the ensuing Yatras, based on the experiences gained and feed-back gathered. On the basis of the feedback received from the Camp Directors, the Governor asked Mr. P.K. Tripathi, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Shrine Board, to initiate action to prepare Camp-wise and route-wise Action Plans for Yatra 2016, on a time-bound basis, particularly focusing on the requirements of medicare, water and power supply, sanitation, environment protection, accommodation and all other required facilities.


The Governor, as Chairman of the Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board, presented certificates and mementoes to the officers who attended the Meeting, as a token of the Board’s appreciation and thanks for their valuable support for the smooth conduct of the current year’s Yatra.

Syed Mohammad Altaf Bukhari, Minister for Public Works, Floriculture and Public Gardens; Mian Altaf Ahmad, MLA and Chairman PAC and Mr. Altaf Ahmad Wani, MLA, attended the Felicitation Programme to appreciate the services rendered by all the concerned officers for the smooth conduct of Yatra 2015.

Mr. P.K. Tripathi, CEO, gave details of the measures which were taken for providing the required facilities for Yatra 2015. While thanking one and all for the speed and promptitude with which all those involved with the conduct of the Yatra had worked, he said that it was due to this synergy which helped in the successful management of the Yatra.

The issues which were reviewed during the meeting included: bringing further improvements in the existing system of Registration of Yatris and Assess Control measures at the Chandanwari and Domel Access Control Gates; functioning of Medical Aid Centres; sanitation arrangements at the various Camp locations; functioning of Langars and other services. Other issues that came under discussion included operation of helicopter services; services rendered by BSNL; Disaster Management arrangements; services rendered by various other departments and agencies and the scope for improvements therein.

Mr. Jitendra K. Singh, Additional Chief Executive Officer of the Board, presented the vote of thanks on the occasion.

Lt. Gen. Satish Dua, GOC Hqrs. 15 Corps; Mr. K. Rajendra, Director General of Police; Mr. B. B. Vyas, Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister; Mr. Sundeep Kumar Nayak, Principal Secretary Power Development Department; Mr. Raj Kumar Goyal, Principal Secretary Home; Mr. Asgar Hassan Samoon, Div. Comm. Kashmir; Mr. Navin K. Choudhary, Commissioner Secretary Finance; Mr. Rohit Kansal Commissioner Secretary PWD; Mr. S.K. Bhagat, Special DG, CRPF, J&K; Mr. S.J. M. Gillani, IGP, Kashmir; Mrs.Vipra Bhal, Labour Commissioner; Mr. Nalin Parbhat, IG (ops) CRPF; Maj. Gen. Arvind Dutta, GOC Hqrs. Victor Force; Mr. Zaffar Ahmad Bhat, Director General,  Information; Mr. Showkat Aijaz Bhat, Deputy Commissioner, Ganderbal; Mr. Muneer-ul-Islam, Deputy Commissioner, Anantnag; Prof. Showkat Zargar, Director, SKIMS, Srinagar; Mr. R. S. Sodhi, Director General Fire and Emergency Services; J&K; Mr. Labh Singh, CGM BSNL; Mr. Sonam Lotus, Director, Indian Meteorological Department, Srinagar; Mr. Satish Razdan, Chief Engineer PWD; Mr. Bashir Ahmad Khan, Chief Engineer, PDD; Mr. G.M. Butt, Chief Engineer, PHE; Police Yatra Officers; Heads of Departments, Camp Directors, Additional Camp Directors, senior Civil, Army, Security Forces and Police officers were prominent among those who participated in the meeting.

You might also like