Sitharaman elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha


Nirmala Sitharaman

Union Minister of State for Commerce and Industry Nirmala Sitharaman was elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh.The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had nominated her for the Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh where the seat fell vacant after the May 9 demise of N. Janardhana Reddy, a former chief minister of Andhra Pradesh.The Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the ruling party in Andhra Pradesh and a key partner in the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government, supported her nomination.The election for the lone seat was scheduled to be held on July 3. As Sitharaman was the only one to file the nomination, she was declared elected unopposed.Sitharaman, sworn in as a minister on May 26, had to get elected to either house of parliament within six months