Sixth win for Murthy, Sujith in National Rally Championship



Ranchi:  Chidananda Murthy and navigator B.S. Sujith Kumar of Team Tata Motors clinched their sixth win in the 2014 FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship as they emerged Pro-Stock champions in the Wild Adventure Rally, the eighth and penultimate round of the series here Sunday.

Also Read:

Having won in Ranchi and Kolkata and a second place in Bhubaneswar, the Bengaluru-based pair also topped in the Eastern India TSD Challenge 2014. The duo has 174 points.

Murthy and Sujith Kumar had already clinched the 2014 National title in their class to achieve a hat-trick. The ninth and concluding round of the championship will be held in Chennai next month.

In the Pro-Expert category, Ajgar Ali and Mohammad Musthafa, also of Team Tata Motors, won the Rally to take their national championship tally to 148 points, ahead of Karthik Maruthi and Sankar Anand (144).

The results:
Pro-Stock: 1. Chidananda Murthy / BS Sujith Kumar (Team Tata Motors, 04:10 minutes penalty); 2. Saurav Chatterjee / Ashoke Kumar Basu (06:02); 3. Vikas Puttur / Moulinath Ghosh (Team Tata Motors, 18:36).

Pro-Expert: 1. Ajgar Ali / Md Musthafa (Team Tata Motors, 01:43); 2. MD Ganesh Moorthy / T Nagarajan (Team Tata Motors, 01:46); 3. KP Karthik Maruthi / Sankar Anand (01:58).