Team Jammu to gherao Ministers, MLAs if no holiday is declared on Maharaja’s birthday


JAMMU, Sept 13: Making a fervent appeal to all Jammuites for celebrating birth anniversary of Maharaja Hari Singh in a big way, Team Jammu today threatened a massive agitation if the Government does not declare September 23 as State holiday.
“If the Government does not declare State holiday on birth anniversary of Maharaja Hari Singh, which falls on September 23, Team Jammu will gherao Ministers of this Coalition Government and all the Jammu based MLAs, including that of opposition who are adopting a criminal silence towards peoples’ aspirations on the issue,” said Zorawar Singh Jamwal, chairman of Team Jammu, while addressing a press conference, here today.
He added that the Team Jammu will also gherao civil secretariat on opening of Darbar here as well as the Legislative Assembly and this agitational programme will continue till the Government announced State holiday on the Maharaja’s birthday.  “Our patience is running out and we will not tolerate any more delay in recognizing services of the visionary Maharaja,” he further said.
Apart from agitational programme from September 24 onwards, Jamwal announced that Team Jammu will celebrate the birth anniversary of Maharaja Hari Singh in a big way by organizing functions and distributing sweets at village level in entire Jammu division to mark the occasion.
He appealed all Jammuites, irrespective of caste and religion, to celebrate the Maharaja’s birthday by distributing sweets and particularly by preparing ‘Halwa’ at their respective homes.
Team Jammu chairman  also appealed  to all the community heads, Bazar associations and   working class to make the day a mega event by celebrating Maharaja’s birthday for giving  a  strong message to the political class that entire Jammu division was  one on the issue and  ready for mass movement if September 23 is not declared as State holiday.
Among others,  who also addressed the press conference and informed about the Team Jammu programme in their respective area on September 23,  included Rajesh Kapoor, Anupam Sambyal, Rahul Sambyal (Samba), Adishvar Mahajan (Rajouri), Rajesh Rinku (Chenani), Narinder Sharma (R S Pura), Avinash Chowdhary (Vijaypur), Vijay Proch (Katra), Er Chandan Dutta and  Sunil Singh Raipuria.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.