The new government to have a rush through budget session?


The PDP BJP coalition Government  in Jammu and Kashmir along with National Conference and Congress, two prominent opposition parties, and independent MLAs gearing up for the first Assembly session.  The session awaits for the major political bodies of the state to corner the Government on the crucial issues including the contrariety between the two partners.

The PDP and the BJP on the other hand are gearing up to counter the opposition attacks but  some of the MLAs of the newly formed government might embarrass the Government while raising the isuues concerning the public.

Highly placed official sources have told that the session could turn out to be the shortest budget session though the provisional calendar is yet to be issued by the Assembly secretariat. The Government proposed to present the budget on March 22, there would be hardly a week to get it passed before March 31, viewing a couple of holidays in between. The government proposed to end the session by April 4 and will start on March 18 commencing with Governor’s address .

The NC- Congress coalition government in 2009 on January 5 but then Finance Minister had taken Vote-on-Account. The PDP BJP government was formed on March 1 but it has decided to present the full budget within 20 days of the formation of Government.


The session however will be a rush through session as the Government proposed to present the budget on Sunday with only two days kept for debate. After the budget, there would be hardly five days left for the debate  on the grants of all Ministries as it will also be debated for two days followed by Finance Minister Haseeb Drabu’s reply. 17 Cabinet Ministers including the Chief Minister and two Ministers of State, whose Demands for Grants will be debated in the Assembly in six days.

The election of the Speaker is scheduled to be held in April 18 and in his absence the Pro-term Speaker Mohammad Shafi Uri  will administer  the oath on March 13 and that will later be ratified by the newly elected Speaker Kavinder Gupta.