Watch: MS Dhoni was not out- Umpire makes wrong call after Ambati Rayudu uses up DRS

125

MS Dhoni must be feeling unlucky after he was wrongly given out during India vs Australia first one-day international in Sydney on Saturday. MS Dhoni’s wicket was the turning point in the first ODI between India and Australia as it tilted the match in the hosts’ favour at a crucial moment.

India suffered a 34-run defeat at the hands of Australia in the first ODI at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

In the 33rd over, with India still needing 148 runs from 107 balls, Dhoni shuffled across the crease trying to flick one to the leg side. He missed the line and the ball struck his pads. Umpire Michael Gough raised his finger and Dhoni had to walk back.

Dhoni appeared to be a little upset at the decision and looked to the umpire. He was unable to call for a review as India had already used up their one DRS call.

Dhoni was right to be upset as the replays showed that the ball had pitched outside the line of the stumps.

Ambati Rayudu had already taken India’s only review it in fourth over. Rayudu was hit on pads by Jhye Richardson and the review showed that the ball was striking on the leg stump.

After Australia had posted 288/5 in their 50 overs, India could manage only 254/9 in reply despite Rohit Sharma’s 22nd ODI hundred.

You might also like