With India’s 3-0 win over South Africa, Kohli became India captain to register most no. of series whitewashes


Virat Kohli added yet another feather to his already bulky cap but this time as a captain after leading his team to its first series whitewash over South Africa in Tests on Tuesday.

Kohli surpassed Mohammed Azharuddin to become the India captain to lead the team to most no. of series whitewashes in Tests (minimum 3 matches). Azharuddin led India to two series whitewashes under his leadership but Kohli bettered his record with a complete rout of South Africa in the Freedom series.

Also Read:

Before this, Virat Kohli’s men had whitewashed New Zealand (3-0) in a home series in 2016 and Sri Lanka (3-0) in an away series in 2017.

India had whitewashed England (3-0) in 1993 and Sri Lanka (3-0) in 1994, with Azharuddin at the helm of affairs in two home series. Under MS Dhoni, India managed to whitewash only one opponent that was Australia (4-0) in a home series in 2013.

Overall, this is India’s sixth clean sweep at home in a three-Test series and India didn’t put a foot wrong during the three-match series winning the first Test by 203 runs and the second one by an innings and 137 runs.

On the other hand, South Africa skipper Faf du Plessis became the only South African captain to have lost consecutive Test series in India. The last time South Africa toured India, in 2015, they were routed 3-0 on pitches which were practically minefields for batsmen facing spin, under Faf’s leadership.

A formidable Indian team ticked all boxes with ease as they registered comprehensive innings and 202 runs victory in the third and final Test in Ranchi. Debutant Shahbaz Nadeem (2/18 in 6 overs) wrapped it up in the second over of the day as South Africa were all-out for 133 in their second innings, 30 runs short of their dismal first innings score of 162.