Zulfkar receives Best Legislator Award for 2012

SRINAGAR, JUNE 6: Minister for Consumer Affairs, & Public Distribution (CA&PD) Chowdhary Zulfkar Ali today received Best Legislator Award 2012 for his outstanding performance during the year.
The award handed over by Chief Minister (CM) Mehbooba Mufti includes gold medal, citation and award money of Rs one lakh.
Soon after receiving the award, the Minister donated award money to the Chief Ministers Relief Fund.
Speaking on the occasion, CM Mehbooba Mufti congratulated awardees and appreciated them for their outstanding performance.
The function organized in the Assembly Lawns was also attended by Speaker Assembly Kavinder Gupta, Deputy Speaker Nazir Gurezi, Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State (MoS)s, besides other legislators and Jury members.
The Minister thanked Chief Minister for the award. He also expressed his gratitude to the Speaker and all legislators especially jury members who adjudged him as “Best Legislator for 2012”.
As Minister in previous Government, Zulfkar has taken a landmark decision of implementing 2011 census for distribution of ration to the people and has succeeded in implementing the same.
The Minister also paved way for implementing NFSA in the state, and initiated implementation of e-PDS and digitization of records besides bringing accountability and transparency in the department.
Born in small village Tralla of tehsil Budhal in District Rajouri Mr. Ali was first time elected as member of J&K Legislative Assembly in 2008.
He has also received awards like Indira Gandhi Sadbhavana Award, Rashtriya Gourav Award, International Millennium Gold Star Award and Shaan-i-Urdu Award for highlighting the plight of weaker sections of society.
In 2008, Mr. Ali contested election on PDP ticket and won. In 2014 he again contested from the same Darhal Constituency and again won, and was inducted as Cabinet Minister for Consumer Affairs & Public Distribution Department.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *