5 villages declared red zones in Rajouri to prevent spread of COVID-19

Baramulla: People strictly practising social distancing while they queue up to buy medicines outside a medical store during 21-day long nationwide lockdown imposed as a precautionary measure to contain the spread of COVID-19, in Jammu and Kashmir's Baramulla on March 25, 2020. (Photo: IANS)

Five villages in Manjakote tehsil of Jammu and Kashmir”s Rajouri district were on Saturday declared as red zones and their surrounding villages as buffer zones to prevent the spread of coronavirus, officials said.

The villages include Sarola, Dehridhara, Mangal Nar, Gambir Muglan and Kotli, the officials said quoting an order issued by Rajouri District Development Commissioner Mohammad Nazir Sheikh.

Also Read:

Three persons hailing from Manjakote tehsil have tested positive for coronavirus in Rajouri district since Thursday.

“The area has become more vulnerable as far as further transmission of the COVID-19 virus is concerned. It is necessary to break further transmission of the disease in the area and it becomes imperative to take stringent precautionary measures like declaring some villages as containment/red zone and surrounding areas as a buffer zone,” Sheikh said in his order.

Invoking prohibitory orders under Section 144 of the CrPC, the National Disaster Management Act and the Epidemic Disease Act, the district development commissioner said there would be no inward and outward movement of any person from these villages and the people would stay at their homes to ensure complete lockdown.