Efforts afoot to rejuvenate SRTC: Kohli


New Bus fleet to ply on different routes

     JAMMU: Minister for Transport Mr. Abdul Gani Kohli told the Legislative Assembly, Thursday that Government was committed to further streamline the functioning of Transport Department and to make the organization more accountable and profitable.

Replying to the Demand for Grants of Transport Department, the Minister said Department is contemplating to add new bus fleet to ply on new routes to earn more profit. For this, an amount of Rs. 13 crore has been demanded. He hoped that after adding the new fleet the functioning of the department will come on track.

Giving details about the achievements of Motor Vehicles Department (MVD), the Minister said revenue to the tune of Rs. 133.74 crore against a target of Rs. 151.60 crore has been realized during the year 2013-14 and in the current financial year an amount of Rs 123.15 crore has been realized against a target of Rs. 159 crore ending February 2015.

The Minister further said to ensure management and development of better human resource of drivers, Government envisages taking steps like introducing efficient licensing policy and effective permit system for public transport.

To ease the congestion in Jammu city, the Minister said instructions have been passed to the concerned to ensure that idle buses should not be parked at the Bus Stands and after unloading the passengers such vehicles shall be parked outside parking slots.

Earlier, the Minister moved a Demand for Grant of Rs.8678.17 lakh to defray the charges which will come in the course of payment during the year ending March 31, 2016 for the department under his charge.

18 Members took part in discussion on demand of grants including Mr. Vikar Rasool Wani, Mr. Ajay Nanda, Shah Mohammad Tantray, Er. Abdul Rashid, Mr. Abdul Majid Bhat, Mr. Rajeev Sharma, Mr. G. M. Saroori, Mr. Mohammad Khalil Band, Mr. Mohammad Akbar Lone, Raja Manzoor Ahmed Khan, Mr. Rakesh Gupta, Mr. Altaf Ahmed Wani, Mr. Deldan Namgyal, Mr. Bashir Ahmed Dar, Mr. Mohammad Amin Bhat, Syed Asgar Ali Karbalai, Mr. Ravinder Raina and Sheikh Ishfaq Jabar.

Later, the members, who moved the Cut Motions on the Grants, withdrew after the satisfactory reply from the Minister.

The House passed the Grants by a voice vote.